Testimonials

Andy ShetterlyPeak Performance Sports Therapy is in business to help people and  nothing provides me with greater satisfaction than when my clients tell me how my work has impacted their life.  I encourage all of my clients to write a brief note about their experience with me and what that has meant to them.  If you are one of my clients, please take a few minutes to provide your review. Andy

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Relief from back pain

Jan 11, 2013 by Becky

I suffer from chronic back and hip pain after a lifetime of playing a variety of sports. Andy has helped me tremendously. His technique has brought me great relief and also peace of mind. Not only does Andy relieve my symptoms, he is genuinely compassionate and committed to helping me with ongoing maintenance. His trigger point therapy is unlike any other treatment I have ever received and it truly makes a difference in decreasing my pain and increasing my mobility. I would recommend Andy to anyone who suffers from chronic pain - especially those who have not found relief with other therapies.


Superior results from Andy

Nov 29, 2012 by Gary McIntosh

I'm a 56 year old guy who can't stay still. I train in a martial art called Aikido and play basketball regularly. I was experiencing significant pain in my piriformis, sciatic nerve, hip flexor area. Traditional physical therapy wasn't working. I found Peak Performance when I Googled Active Release Therapy. After 3 sessions I was back to normal. Treatments were pretty intense. Leg was rotated/manipulated while Andy applied pressure to various muscle "trigger points". I cannot recommend Andy Shetterly high enough. I'm sure I'll need him again at some point.


improved mobility, feel younger

Oct 04, 2011 by Jean S

Twenty-five years ago I began having pain and lack of mobility in my neck, along with suffering with severe headache pain. After many therapy sessions through the years, they continued to worsen. Then, I was fortunate to find Andy Shetterly at Peak Performance. Since he has been caring for me, not only has the pain lessened and mobility improved, my whole body feels younger. At the age of 83, that is a blessing.


Relief from weightlifting pain

Jul 22, 2011 by Jason S

Thanks for all your help over the past couple of years. After years of weightlifting and tension from work...my upper back muscles are always in constant pain and tense. I have been to several PT sessions and doctors to no avail. Thanks to your techniques...I always feel 100% better after each session. Thanks again for all the help!


Train at 100%, day in and day out

Jul 17, 2011 by Drs. Ann and Guy Neff

Achieving athletic excellence involves three equally important phases: the training period, the actual event, and recovery. Most would propose that time spent training is what often defines a champion. The ability to train at 100%, day in and day out, is the recipe for success. Nagging or occult injuries limit the athlete\'s ability to train at 100%. To make matters worse, the lost time due to injury is not
recoverable. In other words, lost opportunities in training may affect the athlete’s goals and long term successes. Undoubtedly, one enjoys training but training when injured is often miserable.

I hated every minute of training, but I said, \"Don\'t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.\" Muhammad Ali

Recovery is an important facet of athletics, and if not properly managed will limit the athlete\'s ability to perform. We sought Andy\'s expertise for our son, Adam, a junior tennis player.

Andy was able to quickly minimize the recovery period thus allowing Adam to return to peak performance.
Optimum training is only achieved when training without injury or pain. Adam was able to train at full speed due to Andy’s work. As Muhammad Ali stated, \"Champions are made during successful training, long before the match.\"
We were very fortunate to find Andy Shetterly from Peak Performance. Andy has worked regularly on our son allowing him to train without injury, recover from the common aches and pain, prevent potential injuries, and compete at a maximum level. We are very confident that Andy’s attention and therapy allowed Adam to prosper, reaching many of his goals including selection for the USTA Davis Cup 10U team.


IT band 90% better after one visit

Jun 09, 2011 by Kerry L

I have been running for 21 years now. As you can imagine I have had my share of injuries (plus!) and as a result, I have been to a dozen different therapists over time. I can say hands down that Andy has helped me the most by far. I was referred to Andy by a friend of mine in the Bob Roncker's training group. It was about 2 weeks before the Chicago marathon this past fall and I was having some pretty severe IT band issues. I was uncertain that I would be able to finish the marathon let alone get my goal (sub 3:10). After seeing him just ONCE, my IT band was 90% better!

I saw him a few times before the race and did not have any IT issues at all during the marathon (finished in 3:08!). I was so impressed that I had him come work on some of my runners (I coach high school distance runners in cross country and track). All of my runners that he worked on felt better afterwards and several of them went on to set up individual appointments to help them get through some injuries.

Everyone that I know who has had work done by Andy has been extremely satisfied and grateful. I am currently training for the Boston marathon and working with Andy to get through some tight hip issues. I am confident that he will get me to the starting line healthy and ready to go!


Andy saved my marathon

Apr 23, 2011 by Colleen D

When I was training for the Boston Marathon, I had IT-band syndrome and couldn't run 100 yards the 4 weeks prior to the marathon. But since I qualified and had purchased my ticket I was going anyway. 3 days before the race, I found Andy - by chance - in the phone book. And he worked on my leg for 1+ hours and I then was able to run 26 miles. It wasn't pretty, but when I couldn't run 100 yards 3 days earlier, I was happy.


rotator cuff injury pain relief

Dec 17, 2010 by Evan S

July 18 through august 15th I attended the AFROTC basic training program. For the first two weeks we were in garrison and then we spent two days at a combat obstacle course. This course included various obstacles such as the low crawl and high crawl with the dummy rifles all the way to hurtling over small wooden walls and traversing through monkey bars. This is where my injury occurred. By the time our flight got around to the monkey bars we were tired and the monkey bars were extremely slippery with sweat. About halfway through I missed the next bar with my left hand but continued to hold on with my right which resulted in all my bodyweight pulling on my shoulder. At first the pain was minimal but became worse throughout the next two weeks of training which included combatives courses and ramped up PT sessions. Upon my return from training the pain had mostly subsided however it returned when I attempted to throw a softball as hard as possible. I waited another month determined that the pain would go away and I would be fine, however it had become much worse. My shoulder hurt regularly throughout the day and any activity including my right arm was becoming a nuisance. I went to see the doctor who informed me that I had strained my rotator cuff and without physical and muscular therapy it would not get better. With just three visits to Andy the pain had subsided and my range of motion completely returned.


Andy is an integral part of my training

Nov 02, 2010 by Charlie E

As I was training for the Memphis Marathon in 2009, I hired Andy based on strong recommendations from other friends who utilized him. Andy helped me with my stretching and improve my flexibility. Originally planned as preventative maintenance, his work with me has become an integral part of my training. I continue to utilize him for all of my endurance events, including marathons and triathlons. His knowledge of A.R.T. is superior to anyone else I know and I highly recommend Andy to anyone looking for preventative maintenance or to recover from an existing injury. If it was not for Andy, I don’t believe I would have earned a P.R. and Boston qualifying time at Memphis. Thanks again Andy!


Golfing again!

Aug 15, 2010 by Ross C

Fifteen years ago I broke both bones in my right leg at the boot top in a terrible rollerblading accident. The doctor recommended against surgery to correct the spiral fracture and I was put into a cast. Nine months after the break the doctor declared my leg .healed.. About four years ago I began having pain in my right hip and problems with my neck, especially on the left side. My quality of life diminished each week and I became more and more limited in what I could do. After spending thousands of dollars and hundreds of hours with various doctors and physical therapists, I was finally diagnosed as having myofascial pain syndrome. About a year ago a trainer in my home state of Arizona discovered the root cause of my problems: My right leg had healed improperly and was 9mm shorter than the left leg. I had been effectively running around with one shoe on and one shoe off for fourteen years which created muscle tightness and dysfunction from my ankle all the way up to my neck.

Although I began getting relief from the pain within a few months after getting the necessary height adjustment and starting a good stretching program, I was still unable to resume swimming or playing golf without considerable pain. In short, as long as I did nothing other than light stretching, I was out of pain about 80% of the time. I felt stuck and it seemed like I was not making any progress. This was not acceptable, and I was determined to get back to regular activities free of pain.

Two months ago my brother who lives in Cincinnati was scheduled for neck surgery for a bulging disc at C5-C6. He was in such terrific pain that he was practically unable to move. In an attempt to avoid surgery my brother found Andy Shetterly and paid him a visit. Long story short, my brother never did have the surgery and is practically back to normal, including some limited rock climbing. When hearing this story I contacted Andy and flew from Arizona to Cincinnati to see him.

I spent five days (three hours each day) working with Andy. What a godsend. Andy further refined the nature of my dysfunction and identified muscles in my right calf and ankle that were stuck, atrophying and dysfunctional which led me to walk in a way (even with the corrective orthotic and height adjustment) that was continuing the pattern of pain.

Although I still have a ways to go to get where I want to be, I made more progress in one week with Andy than I had in the previous year. Yesterday I went golfing with my son for the first time in two years and I have started light swimming again for additional exercise. It was sure worth it to travel half way across the country to see Andy. Thank you.


Peak Performance Sports Therapy 859-802-0448 2200 Victory Parkway Cincinnati OH, 45206 USA 5.0 5.0 11 11 I suffer from chronic back and hip pain after a lifetime of playing a variety of sports. Andy has helped me tremendously. His technique has brought me great relief and also peace
Page:
12